Tales of the Caribbean time for beauty, celebration and tears

Cheryl L. McLean, Living Stories Traveller

map

Don and I enjoyed the Caribbean cruise with Royal Caribbean’s Jewel of the Seas  as each of us, at times, sought out opportunities to explore. Not knowing quite what to expect from an excursion called “The Legendary Kon Tiki” I waited patiently with the others on shore at Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas as a boat the size of a large red bungalow house floated up complete with dance floor and musicians playing in a steel band…good fun was had by all as we shared in the dance and the rhythms of the day rocking with young and old alike dancing in a circle in the middle of the “house”… a glass bottom for this boat to easily view whatever fish might swim by offered a unique perspective …Such a house boat afloat I have never quite experienced and legendary, well oh yes it was, just as the name proclaims.

caribbean-042

In St. Kitts Don and I had the good fortune of meeting tour operator Walter who shared with us his knowledge of the island aboard his open air bus. We took in a botanical garden and local batik store and outlet..Here could be found wall hangings, dresses and bright coloured shirts, pricey but locally made. Walter’s tour was only $20 by the way.

caribbean-081

In Antigua we had our fortunate meeting with tour operator Joyce. She was efficient and professional when we met her there on the busy street and soon we were loaded into her comfortable air conditioned taxi van, complete with Wifi a welcome extra with internet being  so expensive on the boat,. Joyce shared with us the sites on the island stopping to share the views…She said in Antigua there is a beach for every day of the year and that is no lie!!! Kind enough to drop us off at one for a couple of hours Joyce visited friends while we checked out the beach. Her fee for the 3 to 4 hr. tour and beach visit was $20 (we all tipped her too and we were glad to do so!) So our little offering of advice is never book the ship tours in advance because there will be tour professionals and local companies on the islands to gladly help you and provide excellent service for much cheaper.  This is no reflection, however, on Royal Caribbean and their exemplary service in all respects…just one traveller’s practical observation.

carib1

Out on my own for a day I hopped on a taxi to Bridgetown and found myself in the town square…I couldn’t find the town centre or any public gathering points so started walking toward the water and over a bridge and came across a large Cat boat ready for a sail…they were looking for one more passenger. Did I want to go out for 3 hours, do some snorkeling and have lunch…with free transport directly back to the ship? I had my swim suit in my bag so I had no excuse and joined the other tourists from Germany, Manchester UK, Italy and the U.S. and had an exciting day of sailing (I have fallen in love with Cat sailing).

In St. Lucia you can take the town bus for a return fare of $14 to and from the beach, I had done this before when visiting with a friend and the driver took us to a lovely beach but this time I knew you don’t survive on a beach in St.l Lucia without the chair and umbrella, or at least never try it. My friend and I got horrible sun burns when we did that a couple years back. I met a couple from Carolina and we quickly turned the conversation to family, home and our kids and, as sometimes happens travelling we find that aside from the divisions of politics, more obvious in these times, there are intense deeply human connections that can happen in chance beach or boat meetings and tears were not uncommon from both the men and the women I met. It happened more than once. A man named “Rob” with an easy smile and intense blue eyes told me he was a fire fighter who went with his  men into the towers at 911. “I don’t often tell people that,” he said. “Many of my guys didn’t get out.” He told me it had been a while now, he thought he was ok, but bad dreams had started up just this year. “I’m gonna have to do something about it,” he said. And  life goes on… so much music, so many amazing people on board.

caribbean-116

As I sometimes do when I hear Latin music I will sit and watch and listen closely and admire the couples dance and even join in if they will let me. I met dancers from Mexico, Cuba, Chile and they became my music friends over the course of the cruise. My jazz vocal teacher  here in London, Catherine, will be glad to know, encouraged by Don and some of my new friends I did go up for karaoke,singing to a full house over 100 in the audience and “Summertime” came off not too badly. Or at least that’s what they told me.  (more later)

Leave a comment